Numéro Consommateur

601 8359   |   601 8300

Health Tips

The Healthy Benefits of Dairy Products

Calcium
It’s difficult to believe that an adult’s body contains 1kg of calcium.  The skeleton contains 99% of the body’s calcium. Bones are composed of a framework of proteins on which are fixed calcium crystals, and this is what makes up their strength.  A bone is a living organ that collects calcium everyday in order to build up new cells.  A bone is a calcium bank from which the body draws to ensure the stability of its calcium rate. When lacking a daily intake of calcium, the body draws its calcium needs from the skeleton, thus leading to bone weakness.  That’s why the daily consumption of dairy products, physical activity and being exposed to the sunlight (for vitamin D) are so essential and important to build up and maintain our bone structure.

Dairy proteins

Of excellent nutritional value, they are rich in essential amino acids. Half a litre of milk provides 16g of Protein, as much as a small steak or 2 eggs! Proteins form part of the basic building elements of the body. They are also valuable for elderly people who often suffer from malnutrition and can’t eat meat.  Milk is a source of protein that’s within everyone’s reach.

Lactose
Milk’ s only carbohydrate (sugar), the lactose has nutritional attributes that increase calcium’s intestinal absorption.  It has a low glycemic index (20 to 40) and is barely cariogenic. Without lactose, there would be no cheese, nor curdled milk, nor yogurt. Lactose is the energy-giving substrate of lactic ferments that assimilates them and transforms them into lactic acid.

Lactic ferments

Living micro organisms that transform the milk into yogurt. A yogurt is a living product.

Qualifying as a yogurt

A yogurt is a fermented milk, and to qualify for the «yogurt» trade mark, 2 specific lactic ferments must be present (Lactobacillus bulgaricus and Streptococcus thermophilus). 

These bacilli must be alive, at a rate of 10 millions per gram of yogurt until the use-by date. It’s the presence of living ferments that gives the yogurt its specificity, such as being more easily digestible than milk, as well as to contribute to the intestinal flora‘s equilibrium.

These specific bacilli of the yogurt are probiotics. They are known as probiotics as they exert beneficial effects on regular consumers, and contribute, for example, to restore one’s intestinal equilibrium.
DEFINITION OF PROBIOTIC

Probiotics are living micro organisms (bacterium or yeast) that, when added in adequate quantity to some food products, such as yogurts , exert a beneficial effect on the recipient’s health.

Our products are

Member of

Our certifications

where are we ?

Numéro Consommateur

601 8359   |   601 8300

Eclairage santé

Les Bénéfices Santé des Produits Laitiers

Le Calcium

Difficile de s’imaginer que le corps contient 1kg de calcium chez l’adulte.  Le squelette renferme 99% du calcium du corps. Pour être solide, l’os est composé d’une trame de protéines sur laquelle se fixent les cristaux de calcium.  L’os est un organe vivant qui, tous les jours capte du calcium pour fabriquer de nouvelles cellules.  L’os est une banque de calcium où le corps va puiser pour assurer la stabilité de son taux de calcium. Sans apport journalier en calcium, le corps va puiser ses besoins en calcium au niveau du squelette et ainsi conduire à une fragilité osseuse.  C’est pourquoi la consommation quotidienne de produits laitiers, l’activité physique et l’exposition au soleil(pour la vit D) sont tellement nécessaires et importantes pour construire et entretenir notre capital osseux.

Les Protéines laitières

Excellente valeur nutritionnelle, elles sont riches en acides aminés essentiels. Un demi-litre de lait fournit 16g de Protéine, autant qu’un petit steak ou 2 œufs ! Les protéines sont les éléments de construction du corps. Elles sont aussi précieuses pour les personnes âgées qui souffrent souvent de malnutrition et ne peuvent pas consommer de viandes.  Le lait est une source de protéines très accessible.

Le lactose

Le seul glucide (sucre) du lait.  Le lactose possède des propriétés nutritionnelles qui augmentent l’absorption intestinale du calcium.  Il a un faible index glycémique (20 a 40) et n’est pratiquement pas cariogène. Sans le lactose, il n’y aurait pas de fromage, ni de lait caillé, ni de yaourt. Le lactose est le substrat énergétique des bactéries lactiques qui le digèrent et le transforment en acide lactique.

Les ferments lactiques

Des micro-organismes vivants qui transforment le lait en yaourt.  Le yaourt est un produit vivant.

N’est pas yaourt qui veut

Le yaourt est un lait fermenté, et pour avoir droit à l’appellation « yaourt », il faut la présence de 2 ferments lactiques spécifiques (Lactobacillus bulgaricus et Streptococcus thermophilus). 

Ces ferments lactiques doivent rester en vie à raison de 10 millions par gramme de yaourt jusqu'à la date limite de consommation. C’est la présence des ferments vivants qui donne au yaourt ses spécificités, telles que d’être plus digeste que le lait, ainsi que de contribuer à l’équilibre de la flore intestinale.

Ces ferments lactiques spécifiques du yaourt sont des probiotiques. Ils sont appelés probiotiques car ils exercent des effets bénéfiques sur le consommateur régulier et contribuent, par exemple, à rétablir l’équilibre intestinal.

DEFINITION DE PROBIOTIQUE

Les pro-biotiques sont des micro-organismes vivants (bactéries ou levures) qui, lorsqu’ils sont ajoutés en quantité adéquate à certains produits alimentaires, comme les yaourts par exemple, exercent un effet bénéfique sur la santé de l’hôte.

Nos produits sont

Membre du groupe

Nos certifications

où sommes-nous?